window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'G-96CF3MD809');

National Champions

Share this article

Our Champions IGA Braves are both Conference & National Champions after coming away undefeated at the NBL1 National Championships in Western Australia over the weekend. 

The Braves faced off against Cockburn in their first match-up and finished with a commanding win 101 – 57. The win saw our Women collect enough points to send them through to the Championship game.

National rules give 1 point for every quarter won, .5 points for every quarter drawn, and 3 points for a win.

The Bendigo Braves took a 28-15 lead at quarter time, 48 – 27 lead at half-time, and a 77 – 39 lead at three-quarter-time. Amy Atwell recorded 44 points for the game.

With the points in the bag, it was time for the National Championship game against Northside. Bendigo took a narrow 22 – 21 lead at quarter time, a 51 – 43 lead at half-time, and put the game on their terms with an 83 – 59 lead at three-quarter-time.

The Braves were National Champions at the final buzzer, with a strong finish 114 – 87. Braves MVP Meg McKay stuffed the stat sheet with a massive 46 points & 15 rebounds. McKay and Atwell were named in the All-Star 5 line up.

The win crowned Bendigo National Champions, but also saw the team secure a record-breaking 28-0 record.


Major Sponsor

Proudly Supported By